My Collegiate Journey in Recovery

Hello Everyone! I am an intern at CCAR Young Adult & Family Program.  I am currently a student at college and will be graduating this year with an Associates in Human Services. In contribution to National History Month for women, I would like to talk about being a student while in recovery and some of the challenges that I faced.  I am proud to say that I have 9 years of clean time and will continue to work my recovery.  According to the Betty Ford Institute, alcohol and drug abuse is widely recognized on college campus.  I have seen and also been influenced by drugs and alcohol when attending school. It was very tempting for me to meet up with my fellow peers, ditch classes, so we can have some drinks and maybe something more.  That was when I first started school 13 years ago, and there wasn’t much talk about recovery. I had no connections in terms of obtaining resources.  I was ashamed to talk to someone. Of course there were guidance counselors, but I felt guilty about seeing them. I felt as though they would only look down upon me or stereotype.  I eventually dropped out of college because the addiction took over my life.  Since I’ve been back after those years, I have noticed that there are more support groups and other services around the school.  I see flyers posted with all kinds of information about recovery and addiction. This is so important and should be available to the college students. There has been more incidences of underage drinking, alcohol related assaults, accidents, emergency room visits and deaths affecting college students.[National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism, NIAA,2007] College can be difficult and challenging especially we as students experience various life transitions and stressors.  All this can increase our risk with depression, anxiety, eating disorders and substance use.(www.mental healthamerica.net) I can empathize with students who are in recovery because I understand the triggers that we may come across. I think it is important to build a supportive network of peers and to easily access support services at all colleges. Back then I wish I knew about CCAR because I really believe in the values that CCAR stands for and its mission. I find that is also helps my recovery when I stay involved and advocate on the behalf of CCAR. When you’re in recovery there should be a place on campus where we can feel safe and comfortable with other peers in recovery.

Leave a comment